37Weeks.5Days.

Thanks to my friend, Braxton Hicks, today has been a pretty uncomfortable day. It seems to be more pronounced when I sit down, so maybe I need to be up walking more.

 Hiking at Cloudland Canyon

Speaking of walking, Saturday we went on a 5-mile hike. My mom wanted to know if I was worried that hiking might send me into labor. At this point I am not too worried {it wasn’t a hard hike} and since I am full term I don’t have a fear of delivering early – besides the fact that my house is a wreck.

I have been giving myself twice-a-day Heparin shots for a week now. Surprisingly the shots don’t hurt at all {much less painful than the once-a-day Lovenox that I am used to}. However, after administering these shots my skin tends to itch and the bruises hurt more. So in that sense, I will be glad to go back to Lovenox {plus having to fill my own syringes is a pain, as is making sure I remember to do the morning shot}.

Strangest symptom this past week has been a mild swelling in my hands late at night. They often feel inflamed and keep me from getting a good night’s sleep. My OB suggested sleeping with a wrist brace. This has helped somewhat.

I wish that due dates were actual deadlines. I am a bad procrastinator and find that I need a hard deadline to accomplish anything. I have a long list of nursery-related projects that I have been working on, but I think I would be more motivated to finish them if I knew that little guy was arriving for certain on a specific day

 Chicken Tamale Casserole – recipe from The Culinary Couple

A few weeks ago my sister asked me what my cooking plans were for after Jack gets here. I probably gave her a blank stare – this is one of the many things I have not thought about. In our house I either try new, complicated recipes, we eat frozen pizza or we eat out. My sister gently informed me that the complicated recipes will probably need to be put on the back burner. Hmmm. I have read lots about preparing meals ahead of time to freeze. And I am trying. Really I am. It is just hard to shift gears. So far I have made extra chili and an extra Chicken Tamale Casserole. I know I need to do better, I just can’t seem to wrap my head around the fact that things are going to be different.

pleated poppy


What I Wore Wednesday 

Shirt from Target.
Old Jeans from Banana Republic.
Chacos from REI.

Shirt from Motherhood.
Vest from Kohl’s.
Compression Capris from Dick’s.
Boots and wool socks from REI.

Leave a Reply

