35Weeks.5Days.

How is it possible that we are almost 36 weeks? Eek! Lots to do and the sooner the better.

Last week I strained a muscle in the top of my abdomen. It hurt like crazy. For three days, every time little one kicked it made me want to cry. It also made me incredibly sensitive to others getting too close to me. I was actually in a Chick-fil-a last Friday during a busy lunch hour and I had the thought that if a stranger tried to touch my belly I might punch them. Thankfully that didn’t happen. If I hadn’t been in so much pain I probably would not have cared, but hurting for 3 days makes you think that you would totally punch a stranger.

All of our nursery furniture is purchased. We still need to assemble most of it, but at least we have it. Our rocker recliner probably won’t be here until after baby arrives, but that is OK.

Recently I was telling Daniel that even though this pregnancy has been pretty easy on me, I will never be one of those people who LOVES being pregnant. Can you imagine being like the Duggars and being pregnant for like 20 years of your adult life? That is just nuts to me.

Right after this conversation, Daniel and I went into JoAnn’s to scope out some fabric. The sales girl engaged me in a conversation about being pregnant. She asked if I was more sick during the third trimester than the first – I told her that I actually haven’t been sick at all. Then she asked me about stretch marks – and I had to tell her that I don’t have any. And then she told me how horrible her sickness and stretch marks were. But finished up by telling me how much she LOVED being pregnant. I just don’t get it…

I have been a bit surprised by how little people talk to me about being pregnant. I was prepared for strangers to talk to me and give me advice and want to touch me and THANKFULLY I really haven’t experienced that. Even at the grocery store – I can go to the same checker week after week and they never say a word about being pregnant. Maybe it is a small town thing?

Monday night we went to a child safety class. Pretending to diaper and feed and swaddle a doll was not really our cup of tea. Though we do need more practice with the swaddling. Then again, my mom told me that they didn’t even teach her to swaddle when I was a baby…

Tomorrow I go for my 36 week check up. They are going to do an ultrasound since I was measuring big at my last appointment. They will also check to see if I have dilated at all – yikes! Not sure if I am ready for that yet. Saturday we are taking a birthing class – then we should be totally prepared for this, right? Hah.

I am still feeling great. Still doing yoga and kickboxing. Still no major aches or pains {other than those 3 days last week}. Still able to sleep through the night most of the time. Anything that requires bending over is definitely harder with each passing day. Overall I am feeling very blessed but also nervous that this has all been too easy and at some point things are going to get hard.

pleated poppy


What I Wore Wednesday
Maternity Shirt from Motherhood.

Jeans from Banana Republic {yay for relaxed fit, low-ride jeans from my pre-pregnancy days}.
Chacos from REI.

Leave a Reply

