27Weeks.5Days.

Crazy but we are actually about to start our third trimester… where is the time going?

This past Tuesday I went to Nashville to take a breastfeeding class with my good friend, Kristalynne. Her husband couldn’t make it and Daniel didn’t particularly want to go to my class… so we were each other’s moral support.

We met at Boscos for dinner where we both indulged in the Boscos Burger before heading over to Vanderbilt for our class. The burgers were delish and I loved the Garlic Parmesan Fries that came with mine.

The nurse who taught our class was very informative and funny which made it a good experience. I took 4 pages worth of notes and we were given a book to read, The New Mother’s Guide to Breastfeeding. I also found the video we watched to be helpful and the opportunity to hold a pretend baby in various feeding positions was a useful exercise. At one point I told Kristalynne it felt like I was holding a football and then the nurse explained that we were practicing the “football” hold.
The most random thing I learned is that cabbage leaves are great for relieving engorged breasts. You stick the raw leaves in your bra for 20-30 minutes for relief. Any more than that and your milk will dry up. I mentioned this to my sister and she laughed and said that this was a common trick used by nurses. After she weaned Izzy, she used cabbage leaves for 3 days and her milk completely dried up. Good to know!

I am feeling less clueless about the breastfeeding process. Though I am still clueless about plenty of things. I know that nothing will compare to actually having a baby here and in our arms. We can read all we want but until the time comes we won’t really know what it will be like.

pleated poppy


What I Wore Wednesday
Shirt from Old Navy {pre-pregnancy}
Jeans from Kohls {pre-pregnancy}
Chacos from REI
Leave a Reply

