23Weeks.5Days.

I am definitely getting big. Thankfully it is just in my mid section though.
Names 
I know that we live in the south, but we have officially ruled out: Billy Bob, Bocephus, Bodean, Bubba, Buck, Cletus, Cooter, Dallas, Earl, Horace, Jedidiah, Jethro, John Boy, Rifle, Roscoe, Rufus, Ruger, Trigger, Winchester and Woody.

Movement
I am definitely starting to feel more movement. Mostly late at night as soon as I lay down to go to bed {lucky me}. Last night there were some serious acrobatics occurring in my abdomen. Daniel has still not experienced the kicking.

Weight
10 pounds gained so far. This actually brings me up to my pre-pregnancy weight from last year {after we moved to Alabama but before I started a regular exercise program}. The weird thing is that weighing a certain amount in normal life verses weighing that same amount while pregnant is a totally different experience. Example: Pre-pregnancy I could easily get in and out of bed. While pregnant trying to roll over to get out of bed {or do anything else} is a serious challenge. 

Heat Wave
Thankfully I haven’t been bothered my the excessive heat. I have read a lot about women who experience excessive sweating and general uncomfortableness due to heat and I don’t seem to have those issues… we still keep our thermostat set at 78ºF during the day and as long as I have a fan I am pretty comfortable. 

Cravings
I don’t really think I have a lot of cravings. I have been on a kick of wanting sweets, especially those that include fruit, but it’s not a do or die kind of thing. I can take it or leave it. Also my eating patterns are pretty consistent with pre-pregnancy life and I still can’t overeat due to that lovely thing called heartburn. 

Muscle Pain
I had my first muscle cramp in the middle of the night this past week. Then yesterday I pulled a muscle in my groin {ouch} while walking Sophie {she kept pulling on the leash and I must have over compensated in an effort to not get pulled over}. I went to yoga this morning and was able to work out the kink. Back pain is fairly common these days. I have started putting a heating pad on my back in the evenings and it helps quite a bit. 

Sleep
Sleep is definitely becoming more difficult. Mostly because I can’t seem to get comfortable. I haven’t really experienced the whole “having to pee constantly” phenomenon. I occasionally get up in the night but mostly I am thankful that I don’t seem to be affected by that particular symptom.

My biggest take away from reading books and forums on pregnancy {and being pregnant at the same time as many of my friends} is that we are all different. No two pregnancy experiences are alike. Overall I feel very blessed to be having a pretty easy pregnancy, though I won’t go so far as to say that I am one of those people that loves being pregnant. 

pleated poppy


What I Wore Wednesday
Shirt from Forever 21 {yay for old, stretchy tees that fit over my pregnant belly}.
Jeans from Kohls {yay for relaxed fit, stretchy jeans from my pre-pregnancy days}.
Chacos from REI.

Leave a Reply

